Caribbean Islands

British Virgin Islands

Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands are a British Overseas Territory in the Caribbean, east of Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands, and north-west of Anguilla. The main islands are Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada, and Jost Van Dyke. There are also more than 50 smaller islands and cays. 16 of the islands are inhabited. After Christopher Columbus discovered the islands in 1493, they were named "Santa Úrsula y las Once Mil Vírgenes" (Saint Ursula and the Eleven Thousand Virgins), after the legend of Saint Ursula. At least according to legend, local historians seem to differ.

Most islands are of volcanic origin, a few consist of coral limestone and definitely have a lot of small caves. However, there are no underground sites of touristic interest we know of. The following list are sites which are of some geological interest, however, not interesting enough for a listing. But if you are there you might want to have a look.