Gloucestershire is located in South West England at the border to Wales. It has three main landscape areas, a large part of the Cotswolds, the Royal Forest of Dean and the Severn Vale. The Severn and its valley separate the other two features. The listed sites are mining related and are located in the Forest of Dean.