Sulawesi Selatan Province

South Sulawesi

Sulawesi Selatan (South Sulawesi) is one of four provinces of the Sulawesi island, covering the westen of the two southern peninsulas. The capital is Makassar. The province has numerous tower karst areas and even a UNESCO Global Earth Park named Maros-Pangkep. It protects the geological, biological and cultural diversity.

Despite the numerous caves in the region, there are actually no real show caves and only one semi-wild cave with guides. Many caves are of archaeological interest with prehistoric remains. The Maros-Pangkep Karst Area and other have numerous caves with the potential to be used as mass tourism objects. In other words the low number of listings may change in the future quite rapidly with increasing tourism.