Республика Татарстан

Татарстан Республикасы - Republic of Tatarstan

Tatarstan, formerly also called Tataria, is a part of the Volga Federal District. Its capital Kazan is one of the most important cultural centres of Russia. The people living here, obviously called Tatars, have their own language called Tatar. Located in the center of the East European Plain, it lies between the Volga River and the Kama River, and extends east to the Ural mountains. Natural resources include oil, natural gas, gypsum, and more.

Due to the plains there is not much chance to have vast cave systems. Nevertheless, karst occurs even if there is only a low gradient and if the hills are composed of limestone or gypsum, and both exists in abundance. So we kave listed only an impressive karst spring so far, the related caves are submerged.