Lower Styria - Untersteiermark

The old country of Steiermark (Styria) is today cut into two pieces, the Austrian state Steiermark or Upper Styria and the Slovenian region Štajerska (Lower Styria). The Austrian part is still a region of modern Austria, while the Slovenian Styria was replaced by modern counties with varying borders.