Snowy Mountains Hydro-Electric Scheme

Useful Information

Location: Visitor Centre Cooma: Cooma, Monaro Highway, 2 km north of Cooma CBD.
Tumut 3 Power Station: Talbingo, 6 km off the Snowy Mountains Highway
Open: Visitor Centre Cooma: All year Mon-Fri 8-17, Sat, Sun, Hol 9-14. Closed 25-DEC, 01-JAN.
Tumut 3 Power Station: All year Fri-Mon 10, 11, 13, 14. Closed 25-DEC, 01-JAN.
Fee: Visitor Centre Cooma: free.
Tumut 3 Power Station: Adults AUD 10, Children (0-18) AUD 7, Concession AUD 7, Family (2+2) AUD 27. Groups (15+): Adults AUD 6. [2006]
Classification: SubterraneaWater Supply
Light: LightIncandescent Electric Light System
Guided tours:
Address: Snowy Mountains Scheme Information and Education Centre, PO Box 332, Cooma NSW 2630, Tel: +61-1800-623-776, Fax: +61-2-6453-2048. E-mail: contact
As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.


1949 construction started.
1974 completed.


The Snowy Mountains Hydro-Electric Scheme is a system of sixteen dams, seven power stations, and a pumping station. It is intended for collecting water in the eastern part of the Snowy Mountains and using it for the production of electricity and irrigating the Murrumbidgee and Murray valleys. The subterranean aspect of this sceme are two underground power stations and 225 kilometers of tunnels. It is one of the largest hydroelectric schemes in the world.

The best point to start is the Information & Education Centre at Cooma. This Visitor Center has exhibitions, multimedia displays and helpful staff. It is alos possible to visit a working hydroelectric power plant. Unfortunately is it not possible to visit one of the underground plants, but the tour includes some underground tunnels.