APR to OCT Wed-Sun 14, 14:45, 15:30.
|Classification:||Copper Mine Gem Mine|
|Light:||Incandescent Electric Light System|
|Address:||Besucherbergwerk Bertsch, Südring 2, 34497 Korbach|
|As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.
|1550||beginn of copper mining.|
|1750||end of copper mining.|
The show mine Bertsch was originally a copper mine. Between 1550 and 1750 copper ores were mined. The tunnels of the show mine were manually hewn into the rock 450 years ago The miners used hammer and chisel as their only tools.
Today the former copper mine is a show mine, but there is still some mining going on. Beneath the copper ores there are red quartz nodules, which are called Kellerwald-Achat (Kellerwald agate). The production is processed in the nearby gem mill Edelsteinschleiferei Lange It is sold primarily as jewelry.
Beneath the show mine there are numerous remains of the mining history in the town Bergfreiheit. In one of the former miner's cottages is a small mining museum named Bergamt. It has exhibitions on mining, crafts, and local minerals and rocks. At the show mine is the start of the Kulturhistorisch-ökologischer Lehrpfad Bergfreiheit (Cultural-historical-ecological nature trail Bergfreiheit). This trail has explanatory signs about the local mining history, the geology and the ecology.