Oceania is a sort of non-existent continent, as this describes all the islands located in the southwestern part of the Pacific ocean. It was originally inhabited by polynesian people, but is now also the home of all other ethnic groups, but mostly of the descendants of British immigrants. The biggest countries belonging to Oceania are Australia and New Zealand. Oceania has three main groups of small islands:

The Pacific Plate is an oceanic plate, which means it is composed of heavier volcanic material and thus it swims deeper than the continental plates. It is completely covered by 3,500 m deep sea water. So most of Oceania is deep ocean with some islands of volcanic origin, generally hot spot volcanism. Some islands consist of an considerable amount of limestone which formed as reef on the volcanic islands.